Book Review: Never Date a Siren by Byrd Nash

This post contains affiliate links. Please check out my affiliate disclosure page for more information.

About the book

My thoughts

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I thought this was a siren romance but it turned out to be the opposite. Brigit is a Fae that takes her culture very seriously. She finds herself in a position where she owes a debt to Logan.

Brigit decides to help him overcome the curse placed on him by his ex, a siren. In this short story, we learn the Fae ways and meet many of their kind. This book is a great introduction to this Fae series.

Buy it from Amazon

[kofi]

If you like this, you will like:

Book Review: Balanced Scales by Laura Greenwood

This post contains affiliate links. Please check out my affiliate disclosure page for more information.

About the book

Balanced Scales blurb

My thoughts

This started off feeling very reminiscent of the Little Mermaid story that is so popular, but then it turned into something else.

Instead of loosing her voice, she loses her soul. Now she’s on a mission to get it back. This brave mer might get more than she anticipated. An unexpected, but enjoyable quick read.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Buy it on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3PJsfji

[Kofi]

If you enjoyed this, you might like:

Book Review: The Steel Princess by April Grace

This post contains affiliate links. Please check out my affiliate disclosure page for more information.

About the book

My thoughts

This story is told through two POVs. The MC is Silver, and the other is Eden. Their missions are similar – to find their mother – but their journeys are different.

Silver is a very loveable character. She is a gynoid that was raised within a human rebel camp. She knows very little about her kind, and embraces her mission and all the challenges it encompasses. Her training involves rooms with virtual scenarios but real life consequences.

Eden is a human with a mechanical heart. He grew up within the cruel gynoid queen’s castle and trained as a tinker. Although he isn’t in a jail or guarded, he isn’t free. When he finds himself outside the castle walls, he takes the opportunity to escape and find his mum. This leads him on an adventure of pirates, sirens, and man eating giants – just to name a few.

If you love fantasy and adventure, and want something a little different, this is well worth checking out! Plus, the cover is stunning and there is character art inside.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

You can buy this book from Amazon: Steel Princess

[kofi]

If you enjoyed this, you might like:

Book Review: Sailor Twain by Mark Siegel

This post contains affiliate links. Please check out my affiliate disclosure page for more information.

About the book

My thoughts

This was a wild card, as I wasn’t sure what to expect. I don’t often read graphic novels but the promise of a mermaid intrigued me.

I whizzed through this, and found it very entertaining. The story is set in 1800s on a steamboat. I’m not a history buff but learning via a comic book (with a bit of fantasy) made it lots of fun. It’s funny too.

An unexpected treat were the pages at the end. Here the author shares how the characters first came to him, all the research, and more of his artwork. I love discovering more behind the book.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Mermaid Marathon Reads – Week two

I joined Maci Dierking’s Instagram challenge with a mermaid bookish theme. Her Instagram is thebrightsidegirl and I felt the prompts were fun and would encourage me to post more.

Mermaid Marathon Reads

Click here to see my posts for Mermaid Marathon Reads week one. The challenge encouraged me to post everyday and that continued into week two (almost).

Current read

In hind sight, I could have used this for my Wednesday post as I currently have a few books on the go.

Vacay vibes

Boat read

Mermaid on the cover

Still to post…

Pirates

Island read

Fave read of the week

So that’s it for this challenge. But now would probably be a good time to remind you that Ocean Heart is currently half price in the Smashwords Summer Sale (July 2022).

If you enjoyed this you might like:

Like, subscribe, & follow me

[kofi]

Mermaid Marathon Reads – Week One

I joined Maci Dierking’s Instagram challenge with a mermaid bookish theme. Her Instagram is thebrightsidegirl and I felt the prompts were fun and would encourage me to post more.

#MermaidMarathonReads – Week 1

The plan is to read as many mermaid books as you can for the challenge. As a slow reader I knew I wouldn’t achieve much in that perspective, but it was an opportunity to connect with other readers that love mermaids and discover more books.

Mermaid TBR

Current read

Creature on the cover

Mermaid food

Ocean on the cover

Summer vibes

Beach read

Looking forward to sharing week two’s content and telling you about the new books I discovered from my new mermaid reading friends.

If you enjoyed this you might like:

Like, subscribe, & follow me

[kofi]

Book Review: The Seawomen by Chloe Timms

This post contains affiliate links. Please check out my affiliate disclosure page for more information.

I was lucky enough to get an ARC copy of this book via Net Galley. It’s release date is 14 June 2022.

About the book

Blurb of The Sea Women by Chloe Timms

My thoughts

I read an ARC from Net Galley and this is my honest review.

Wow! This book is dark and twisty. I’ve always wondered how people fall prey to a cult leader. How fears can control.

Esta lives on a patriarchal island where they fear the seawomen, and every challenge the islanders face is blamed on the sins of their women. Punished by god, they must repent to be saved. Esta sees through the lies and dangerously seeks answers to questions that if she was a good holy girl she’d ignore.

This book reminded me of the darkness of The Handmaids Tale. The way the book made me turn the page out of morbid curious that people could live this way. The history and characters are written so well, it was difficult to put down.

What an amazing debut!

If you like this, you will like:

Book Blitz: Mermaid of Sicily

Mermaid of Sicily
Jincey Lumpkin
(Mermaid of Venice, #2)
Publication date: September 20th 2021
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance

The glamorous Gia Acquaviva struggles to maintain her freedom and hold onto her business empire. A Sicilian mob boss nips at her tail, hoping to lure her into his sick fantasies. Meanwhile, the global media hunts Gia, attempting to hold her accountable for a string of murders. Can the world’s most famous mermaid escape their net, or will she be caught?

Dive into the extremely glamorous life of Gia Acquaviva, an ultra-rich Venetian mogul with a portfolio of clubs and casinos around the globe. Gia harbors dark secrets––and an underwater graveyard filled with the bones of her former lovers.

Her family’s roots descend from the mythological sirens of ancient Greece, but she’s taken every precaution to protect her anonymity and the existence of other mermaids. Gia lures in men with a beguiling façade, but inside lurks a deeply troubled soul, severely damaged by a mysterious past.

Fans of Killing Eve and Big Little Lies will love Mermaid of Sicily, a sexy psychological thriller with lush fantasy elements. The chic mystery and European hot spots of Patricia Highsmith’s The Talented Mr. Ripley with a juicy splash of the lavish lifestyle in E. L. James’s 50 Shades series. This is not the Little Mermaid you grew up with. Gia’s out for blood.

Mermaid of Sicily is the second installment in a series of 6 books about Gia Acquaviva.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Google Play / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Gia arrived at the base of the Eiffel Tower in disguise. An auburn wig, a pair of large sunglasses, and a wooly cap hid her identity. She approached the brown awning of the Jules Verne restaurant with supreme caution, hyper vigilant of her surroundings and potential threats. It was then that she was met at the front door by two of Q’s men.

“Are you here for Signor Mosca?” one asked.

“Unfortunately,” Gia chirped, sarcasm thick in her voice.

“This way.”

As they entered the restaurant, Gia discovered that Q had paid enough money to clear the place out completely.

How much had that set him back?

People waited months for a reservation—it couldn’t have been easy to compensate all those angry patrons overnight. The men escorted Gia into the glass elevator. As it rose, they passed through level after level of the brown iron that Mr. Eiffel had twisted himself.

The men took Gia all the way to a table that was situated in front of the floor-to-ceiling windows.

“Thank you gentlemen,” Q said, patting them on the back. “I have asked the chef to set up a table for the two of you in the kitchen. Please enjoy your meal. We will come to you when we are ready to go.”

He shuffled toward Gia and took her hand in his. Gia resisted the urge to pull away, her stomach lurched in revulsion to his touch.

Signorina Acquaviva, I have been looking forward to spending time with you since we met in Athens…”

Author Bio:

JINCEY LUMPKIN is a writer and creative director in Luxury Beauty. She is the author of the Mermaid of Venice fantasy thriller series. Recognized as a thought leader on women and culture, Jincey has written more than 50 columns for the Huffington Post and Playboy. She headlined Sex Week at Harvard and gave an infamous TEDx talk, “Are Robots the Future of Sex?” She has been profiled by Dateline NBC, Vice, and GQ, among others. Out Magazine listed her in its “OUT 100”, naming her as one of the world’s most influential LGBTQ+ people, alongside celebrities like Laverne Cox and Ricky Martin.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

End the Year with a Book Bargain!

Ocean Heart has 50% Off in the Smashwords End of Year Sale!

Why Smashwords?

Smashwords enables you to read your eBooks on whatever device/app you prefer. This puts you, the reader, in control of your books.

The Smashwords End Of Year Sale

The Sale is a great way to discover new books and authors, and grab a bargain. Go check out what is on offer. You might find a new favourite!

Click here to browse the Smashwords End Of Year Sale!